Dreams & Delusions…

Seers and Doers

eye-of-the-universe

To be a seer
Is a burden,
In a world of doers…

They turn from
My knowing smile
With awkward, averted eyes
And nervous, fretful laughs…

Why is it so strange
To recognize souls,
To see universes in eyes?
Why does it make you uncomfortable
That I hear more than you say,
And see more than you do?
Are you worried you won’t be good enough
When you can’t hide behind what you say is true?
Don’t you want someone to know the real you?
I know, I do…

~Antanya

Charles Swinburne Seer Quote

18 responses

  1. “Why is it so strange
    To recognize souls,”

    I ask myself this a lot. This is a wonderful piece! I had to read it again, just to take in its beauty.

    June 16, 2015 at 10:09 am

  2. Perfect, I really love how you stated this 🙂

    June 16, 2015 at 11:08 am

    • Thank you! Honestly, this one is a recorded thought. I think in poetry, sometimes…

      June 16, 2015 at 11:11 am

  3. Johnny Ojanpera

    This is wonderful, Antanya! It is a gift and a curse, I think.

    June 16, 2015 at 12:43 pm

    • It definitely is! Others treat it like it is something to be afraid of, though… It’s a little off-putting to have such a prominent work of your soul be viewed as “creepy” or “scary”. That is why I present it as a curse, because we are the ones who actually see, but we have to do so from outside because others are too afraid to let us in… It’s amazing, but also lonely and exhausting.

      June 16, 2015 at 12:51 pm

      • Johnny Ojanpera

        I think there needs to be more conversation about sight. That would help things along. It is a natural sense, and it might only be creepy to one who is hiding something… 😉

        June 16, 2015 at 1:40 pm

  4. Lisa

    Reblogged this on Underground Energy and commented:
    My beautiful friend…

    June 16, 2015 at 12:45 pm

    • Thank you, you’re beautiful, too! I can see it. 😉 ❤

      June 16, 2015 at 12:53 pm

      • Lisa

        Thank you, Antanya. You made me blush!!!

        June 16, 2015 at 12:56 pm

      • You deserve it. 🙂

        June 16, 2015 at 1:17 pm

      • Lisa

        LOL I’ll get you back. 😉 ❤

        June 16, 2015 at 1:18 pm

      • Hehe… I don’t doubt it. 😉

        June 16, 2015 at 1:19 pm

  5. Annie B

    Oh darling, this is beyond description. Beautiful!

    June 16, 2015 at 8:16 pm

  6. So true! It seems everyone sees from their own narrow perspective of the world. But if we open up to one another, we can share a wider global vision. It’s great to be different, and share… our unique gifts. ❤

    June 24, 2015 at 2:23 pm

Leave a Reply

