Dreams & Delusions…

Who Needs Opiates? (I Have Dreams)

I caught a glimpse
Of you, last night.
I recognized you,
For the first time
In a long time…
Felt the longing
And the understanding,
Just enough to leave
The imprint of memory…
A second of warmth
Before waking…

Shivering in cold sweat,
Too early to rise,
With an ache that
Wouldn’t go away…
I drifted back
Into empty darkness
And woke in a fog
Of remembrance…

Please, torture me
Some more.
Let me dream
Of whom I adore,
So, in waking,
This pain,
I can ignore…

10 responses

  1. Fucking brilliant.

    February 5, 2015 at 11:28 am

    • Why, thank you! 🙂

      February 5, 2015 at 11:30 am

      • Thank you for your words. They comfort me, for whatever reason.

        February 5, 2015 at 11:31 am

      • I’m glad they comfort you… I suppose they comfort me, too, in some strange way. At least writing helps me shift my perception and be more aware of my inner-self.

        February 5, 2015 at 11:39 am

  2. Same for me. Writing is therapy. Poetry or otherwise. People like us, should never forget what we have, and that is the ability to heal ourselves with our own words. Seems rather narcissistic right?

    February 5, 2015 at 11:44 am

    • That is very true. Sometimes a good write is all we need. It’s healing to express what we can’t say… I don’t think of it as narcissistic, maybe because I view it as a neccessary tool for coping…

      February 5, 2015 at 11:55 am

      • It’s a little like public masturbation if you ask me.

        February 5, 2015 at 12:36 pm

      • Bahaha! I understand what you mean.

        February 5, 2015 at 1:25 pm

      • And i sincerely hope that comment was not out of line. . .

        February 5, 2015 at 12:37 pm

      • Not at all. Please speak your mind. 🙂

        February 5, 2015 at 12:47 pm

Leave a Reply

