Dreams & Delusions…

Ascension to Liberation- A duet

Spacewarp2

There are things that thrive in dark places,
Rather than die.
I prefer light, bright honest spaces,
Rather than lie.
Sometimes it is necessary
To expand our comfortable periphery,
Or else end in purgatory.
When needs are met, scruples become secondary.
A telling, more true than every word humming,
I can see it in my own eyes.
The darkest places in me reside,
My desire is for light and a possibility.
To become as wide-eyed,
As only one can in the mind.
As my soul opens to opportunity,
I confidently approach with certainty
That I will master the writhing ghosts inside of me.
I quickly draw near to the cliffs, the point of ascension,
As pain reaches threshold, my screams release tension.
When I jump I see the world as it is,
A choice between love and light, pain indiscreet.
To steer my flight, to bathe in the sun’s heat,
I become the essence of my truth.
The darkness remains in limbo,
Here I am free to thrive, open to this uncanny liberation.

~A duet by Johnny Ojanpera and I. I really enjoyed writing this with him, he’s very talented. Check out his page!

11 responses

  1. I read this on his site, you both have done beautifully in this piece.

    December 17, 2014 at 1:19 pm

    • Thank you so much! I really enjoyed the process of writing this one.

      December 17, 2014 at 1:21 pm

  2. A wonderfully written balance of Darkness and Light 🙂

    December 17, 2014 at 1:24 pm

    • Thank you. You know, that’s what I think we are. All humans have this fight for balance in our souls. Maybe it’s due to the duality of the world we live in, but it seems it has always been this way.

      December 17, 2014 at 1:28 pm

  3. Lisa

    I absolutely adore this piece.

    December 17, 2014 at 1:46 pm

    • Thank you, Lisa! It wouldn’t have happened without you! 🙂

      December 17, 2014 at 1:53 pm

  4. Johnny Ojanpera

    Thanks for writing with me, Antanya! It turned out great. 🙂

    December 17, 2014 at 1:47 pm

    • Thank you! It surpassed my expectations that’s for sure. I love it!

      December 17, 2014 at 1:54 pm

  5. wonderful collaboration!

    December 18, 2014 at 7:01 am

Leave a Reply

