Dreams & Delusions…

Empathy (A Shoulder)

People always say-
“I’m here, if you want to talk.”
But what if I don’t want to talk?
Do you have a shoulder that I can just cry on?
I don’t want to explain, it’s making me feel worse.
I just want to cry.
The ultimate expression of empathy
Is when you let others express themselves
Without explanation, without guilt, without niceties-
Sometimes, that is just a mutual cry, sometimes it is offering
Your shoulder with your heart open and your mouth closed.

~Antanya

This one isn’t really a poem, just a train-of-thought.

4 responses

  1. But it is a poem. Poems come in all forms. I definitely get this one, though. It is nice to have friends who will just listen and understand–or, as is often times the case, will quietly carry your ammo boxes to the shooting range with you so you can blow off some steam! Metaphorically speaking, of course. 😉

    December 9, 2014 at 3:05 pm

    • Thank you. 🙂
      I suppose what I meant was that it has no real structure or rhythm, it’s just the way it came out of my head/heart.
      I think that’s my favorite kind of friend.

      December 9, 2014 at 3:11 pm

  2. merlinx9

    whatever it is it’s great nonetheless and well spoken

    December 9, 2014 at 6:44 pm

Leave a Reply

