Dreams & Delusions…

Grandfather Clock

When I was little,
I was afraid of my Grandmother’s
Grandfather clock.
It terrified
And fascinated me
In a way
I could not grasp
Or explain at the time….

It was a beautiful thing,
Carved ornately
And stained dark.
I admired it from afar,
But made sure
I never lingered too near.
The brass work at the top
Was simple,
It showed the moon’s phases.

My Grandmother
Would turn the chimes off
When I came to visit
So they would not
Terrify me at night…
They would make
Me scream and shake
In the middle of the night
When she forgot to…

I remember one day,
I worked up the courage
And sat on the floor
Next to the wooden cabinet.
I peered down into the dark,
And it was so black,
I could not see the bottom…

I’m not afraid
Of Grandfather clocks
Anymore…
I am a Grandfather clock.
Attractive from afar,
but sit down next to me,
Look inside…

You always run and hide….

~Antanya

3 responses

  1. Lisa

    Someone once told me, “You are terrifying and beautiful. Something not everyone knows how to love.”

    October 13, 2014 at 6:26 am

    • Exactly. Thank you. ❤

      October 13, 2014 at 7:54 am

      • Lisa

        October 13, 2014 at 7:54 am

Leave a Reply

