Dreams & Delusions…

World War III (In Me)

The war outside my door
Does not surprise me…
The bombs exploding
Do not shock me.
I’ve been at war
A long time, you see…

The current events of the world
Are echoing the chaos inside me…
I try to move on,
Try to break free…
Then, my mind drops a bomb on me…
I try to love without thinking of you,
But my heart fucks up everything I do.

I’m not too selfish to see
I have people who love me…
I try so hard to fit into this mold,
Knowing that I’m not alone.
I have someone to hold,
I’m not on my own…

When I start to really think,
My support is gone in a wink…
I’m lost in this bloody war,
And my heart won’t shut the door.
I have been fighting, scarred for years,
Trying to hold back my heart’s tears…
I’m tired of being held captive
By my inner fears.

I’m as lost and broken
As those bodies on TV.
I can’t stand all this heartache
Staring back at me…
When I look in the mirror,
I see…
I have become
World War III.

~Antanya

4 responses

  1. Absolutely! The outside is a reflection of the inside. Same/Same.
    I can’t stand all of this heartache in the world either. The feeling is familiar.

    July 18, 2014 at 1:47 pm

    • Empathy is a beautiful and terrible thing. I’m glad to have someone relate, though it’s painful to think that so many others feel the way that I have for many years… It’s heartbreaking. Thank you for commenting. That, at least, makes me happy. πŸ™‚

      July 18, 2014 at 1:51 pm

  2. Crystal Barnes

    Very moving–love it πŸ™‚

    July 26, 2014 at 10:35 am

Leave a Reply

