Dreams & Delusions…

Encounter

I caught myself,
Today.
Remembering a glimpse…

I walked to the harbor.
I saw you,
Training at the boardwalk.
A martial artist,
You were art,
Indeed…

I admired you,
Then turned to the bay.
Gulls and pelicans were fighting with ravens,
It echoed the conflict in my heart.
I turned back to watch you
Flowing gracefully,
Though with a rigidity
That should not have been there.
Were you nervous?

I didn’t know you.
(Or didn’t think so)
Though there was something
Familiar
In those eyes,
In the way you almost fumbled…

I was distraught,
Troubled by life’s darker side,
Trying not to cry,
Though I felt the sting,
Tears that should have flowed.
That sting was almost unbearable
When our eyes met.
I knew at least a part of you,
In that moment…

Your eyes were full of pain.
So similar to what I felt,
I was mesmerized.
I had an idea of who you were,
Though I hadn’t seen you before.

Sometimes I remember that day,
And I wonder if it really was you,
Or just a delusion.
Did I see what I wanted to,
Or was there recognition there?

It haunts me.
You haunt me.
Your face, your mind,
Your HEART.

~Antanya

7 responses

  1. Such a haunting write! A lovely piece, who’s heart I feel I know….

    e

    December 6, 2012 at 5:44 am

  2. go back and get him tiger 🙂

    December 6, 2012 at 8:00 am

    • Haha. You made me laugh. Things are more complicated than that, but thank you! =)

      December 6, 2012 at 8:11 am

      • Good…I am glad I made you laugh 🙂

        December 6, 2012 at 9:53 am

  3. I always find good stuff here.

    December 11, 2012 at 12:42 pm

Leave a Reply

