Dreams & Delusions…

Double-Edged

Compassion can be a beautiful thing:
Lead us to enlightenment, if that is what we seek
Letting our hearts and minds take wing
Like a child it does sneak, while lending us a much sought-after peek
Of the people we should be
Of the things that would be
If we would let them…

Compassion can be an ugly thing:
Let heartbreak of others in
Wondering what our help would bring
While we wallow in others’ sin
Reading too much in their eyes
While we realize
It’s ourselves who we despise
As we cut all ties
Finding ourselves in discomfort…

~Antanya

4 responses

  1. Drex01

    This is really beautiful

    October 22, 2012 at 8:17 pm

  2. Beautiful piece! And you are correct, compassion is a tricky thing. It can be an aspect that allows us to connect with others–sympathize and empathize with them–but it also breeds guilt. I have found that, as someone dearly attached to my sense of compassion, that it brings about an intimacy with the guilt I’ve accrued through my roughly thirty years of life; it allows me to really feel what I’ve hefted on others as well as what others have hefted on others. Hell, I feel guilty for a lot of things that I had nothing to do with! Blast this compassion!

    November 25, 2012 at 8:37 pm

    • Thank you for the compliment, and also for understanding! Yes, that was the exact point. I was feeling very strongly compassionate when I wrote this, and was struggling to retain my sense of self, despite it all… I had just had a very lengthy conversation with a friend who was rather suicidal.

      November 25, 2012 at 8:57 pm

Leave a Reply

