Dreams & Delusions…

Guilty Conscience

I don’t know what you wanted,
I wanted so much more…
Now that I’m forever haunted,
It’s time to close this door.

But I am so afraid,
Scared of losing this lie…
I remember the promise I made,
I made him want to die.

And when I look into blue-green eyes,
I am reminded of my mistake…
Putting on my shining disguise,
Accepting a love I could not take.

So let this be a lesson to those who have strayed,
There is no bliss in loving more than one…
It has only left my soul burning and frayed,
And now I loathe what I’ve become.

 

Leave a Reply

