Dreams & Delusions…

“Crutch”

“Do as I say, not as I do”
Those words never meant much to me,
Until I saw them personified in you.

You say you’ll always be there,
But you’re the one who always leaves,
Always when I feel like I need you…
I am left,
Wondering:
What do you gain from my pain?
Why torture my memory so?
Why leave me broken with nowhere to go?

It means everything to me,
Is it nothing to you?
Why bother breaking down my walls,
Breaking all my rules?

We said “never” like we meant it…
Maybe we did,
But only for a day…
When never becomes “I want”…
What is it,
That makes us stay?

I can’t. You won’t.
I want. We don’t.

 

Leave a Reply

